India’s budding fashion talent & Bollywood’s finest fashion icons shine at Shoppers Stop Designer of The Year Awards 2017


 Aditi Rao Hydari, Kunal Kapoor, Rocky S, Falguni & Shane Peacock grace the occasion


The future of fashion took centre stage at the grand finale of the Shoppers Stop Designer of the Year Awards 2017. The star-studded finale, judged by an esteemed panel comprising fashion stalwarts Rocky S, Falguni & Shane Peacock, as well as Mr. Govind Shrikhande, Customer Care Associate & Managing Director, Shoppers Stop Ltd., was a fitting end to the 8-month long hunt for the country’s finest fashion design talent.

Showstoppers Aditi Rao Hydari and Kunal Kapoor showcased the Shoppers Stop private brand segment while glamorous models Anchal Kumar, Sucheta Sharma, Sony Kaur, Arshia Ahuja, Anita Kumar and more strutted the students’ fashion-forward designs at the glittering event in Mumbai.

Shoppers Stop Designer of the Year 2017 is the industry’s most prestigious platform to recognize and reward budding fashion design students. Shoppers Stop partnered with India’s leading fashion design institutes and colleges to discover the country’s foremost fashion design aspirants. Out of 700 applicants, 13 students were shortlisted for the grand finale where they showcased their designs across 4 categories – women’s Indian-wear, women’s western-wear, athleisure and accessories. 

The top 13 finalists included Adiba Zaidi, Alka Bishnoi, Bhoomi Desai, Chitra Lal, Jaspreet Cibbar, Krusha Gala, Monika Sharma, Neha Pandey, Priyanka Kalita, Saikat Mondal, Shrishti Kushwaha, Vijendra Dubey, and Vivek Mishra. The Shoppers Stop Designer of the Year 2017 winners will get the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to retail their collection across select Shoppers Stop stores exclusively for Shoppers Stop’s private and exclusive brands. The runners-up will get a chance to intern at India’s leading fashion retailer to hone their design skills.

Showstopper Aditi Rao Hydari said,Shoppers Stop Designer of the Year is a fantastic platform to discover budding fashion talent across the country. The energy of these young designers is infectious and their ideas are phenomenal. I am so excited to be here to get a glimpse of the future of India’s fashion talent!”


Kunal Kapoor added, “I am amazed by the talent of these young fashion students. Their designs reflect their enthusiasm and fresh perspectives. Everyone here is a winner and especially Shoppers Stop for introducing this fabulous talent to the industry.”

Jury member and versatile designer Rocky S said, “It is an honor to be on the panel of judges for Shoppers Stop Designer of the Year 2017. I have had a great time mentoring and guiding these young minds over the last few months. And I’m really excited to see their potential unfold.  Youngsters today have extraordinary ideas and I am happy that Shoppers Stop has given them such a wide platform to showcase their talent.

Designer duo Falguni and Shane Peacock said, “India’s leading fashion retailer Shoppers Stop is definitely the ultimate platform for aspiring fashion designers. We are extremely excited to discover the next big names in fashion right here at the Shoppers Stop Designer of the Year 2017.”

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Govind Shrikhande, Customer Care Associate & Managing Director, Shoppers Stop Ltd. said, “Over the last 25 years, we have nurtured India’s foremost fashion design talent including renowned names such as Priyadarshini Rao and Payal Singhal. We continue that legacy with Shoppers Stop Designer of the Year 2017. Our aim is to funnel fresh and forward-thinking minds into the fashion industry through this platform.  We are glad to have fashion icons and long-standing partners Rocky S andFalguni & Shane Peacock on board with us this year to mentor the students. I extend my heartiest congratulations to the winners of this year’s edition of DOTY.”